top of page
ACMHN's 39th International Mental Health Nursing Conference
Collaboration and Partnerships


22-24 October 2013, Pan Pacific Hotel, Perth


“Collaboration and Partnerships in Mental Health Nursing” reflects the changing practice domain and the importance of partnerships to the profession. As mental health nurses we collaborate and work in partnership with consumers and carers, with national and international partners, inter-professionally to foster improvements in mental health care, to bridge the theory practice gap between universities and the clinical areas. We also work collaboratively across an increasing spectrum of clinical areas with government and non-government organisations.


Collaboration and partnerships has also assisted us to work outside of the health silo to strive to improve the quality of life for consumers and carers living in the community.


Speakers and delegates were invited to consider the significance of collaboration and partnerships to their professional lives and in the positioning of the profession into the future. The host committee believe that the theme will provide opportunity for speakers to address a wide range of mental health issues, and give a wide range for sub-themes, which may include Changing practice domains for the profession; Partnerships to recovery; Fostering national/international collaborations; Enhancing the profession through collaboration and partnerships; Working with partners from government and non-government organisations; Working with Indigenous and culturally and linguistically diverse communities; The development of evidence based practice.



Keynote speakers

Professor Pat Dudgeon – Mental Health Commissioner


Pastor Keith Carmody – WA Police Chaplain


Lt Col Cate McGregor – Author, journalist, thinker and political strategist


Professor Dawn Freshwater – Professor of Mental Health & Pro-Vice Chancellor University of Leeds

Professor Eimear Muir-Cochrane – Chair of Nursing (Mental Health) Flinders University


Dr Frances Hughes – Chief Nursing & Midwifery Officer QHealth


Click here to download a copy of the program from the 2013 Conference. 






Click here to view the abstracts in the IJMHN Special Issue: ACHMN's 39th International Mental Health Nursing Conference Collaboration and Partnership in Mental Health Nursing, 22-24 October 2013, Pan Pacific Hotel, Perth, Western Australia. Guest Editor: Peta Marks




MHN of the Year

MHN of the Year

The Australian College of Mental Health Nurses (ACMHN) has named Professor Dianne Wynaden, from Western Australia, Mental Health Nurse of the Year. Professor Wynaden is a registered nurse, Credentialed Mental Health Nurse, and Professor Mental Health at the School of Nursing and Midwifery at Curtin University in Western Australia. “It is a great privilege to be nominated and selected by my peers for this award. It is one of the highlights of my professional career”, said Prof Wynaden.

MHN Achievement Award

MHN Achievement Award

The ACMHN presented Ms Sayumporn (Sue) Webster the Mental Health Nurse Achievement Award for 2013. The selection committee was impressed with her application, which demonstrated a breadth and depth of mental health nursing practice and significant achievements across clinical, education, community and research areas of practice. These achievements, and the professionalism and commitment inherent within her mental health care delivery, are exemplary.

Partnerships in Wellbeing

Partnerships in Wellbeing

The ACMHN and pharmaceutical company Lilly have awarded the Recovery Camp the Major Partnerships in Wellbeing Award for 2013. The Recovery Camp saw undergraduate nursing students and people with a lived experience of mental health issues sharing a week together, promoting an understanding of individual mental health recovery and facilitating an immersive learning experience for nursing students.

Janssen-Cilag Scholarships

Janssen-Cilag Scholarships

Again in 2013, the ACMHN ran a joint scholarship program with Janssen-Cilag. This year's winners were: Danielle Blackwell, Nicholas Burford-Baynes, Bethany Collins, Ben Cutler, Maggie McIntosh, Emily Mignacca, Susan Miles, Simone Parker, Paula Sexton, Hong Wang, Kimberly Adey, Stuart Archer, Angela Becher, Leisa Dodt-Densley, James Houghton, Janice Jankovic, Tania Orchard, Alberta Puplampu, Ann Sweeney, and Andrew Watkins.

A moving keynote

A moving keynote

Lt Col Cate McGregor presented her experiences to a packed room. Not a dry eye in the house at the end!

In house entertainment

In house entertainment

Members of the NT Branch serenaded us with some music during the dinner.

Other award winners



Research Award winners

Ian Munro and Sini Jacob

Don’t go ahead or behind, walk alongside to understand the real meaning of recovery 

Research Award runners-up

Andrew Watkins

Nurse-obtained metabolic monitoring within a psychiatric hospital


Terrance McCann



Stan Alchin Award winner

Vincent Drinkwater

Collaborative Approach to the Management of Acute Behavioural Disturbance


Stan Alchin Award runners-up

Karen Collidge and Joanne Webb

Expanding the clinical practice domains and developing  collaborative models of care – The Mental Health Nurse and Family Based Treatment (FBT) for young people and their families who are experiencing anorexia or bulimia nervosa


Janice Jankovic

Talking the same language


General Award Winner

Margaret McAllister

Resilience in mental health nursing


General Award runners-up

Rhonda Brown and Ruth McNair

The relationship between alcohol and mental health among lesbian and bisexual women


Tim Rolfe and Creswell Surrao

Making some tough choices – the AMHP role in WA


Poster award winner

Nicole Goulter, Glenn Gardner and David Kavengh

Patterns of care



Opening ceremony



Conference dinner




Sponsors and exhibitors
bottom of page